The coronavirus (COVID-19) situation is rapidly evolving. For the latest from the College visit

ACEM CPD Programs are designed to be simple to use, flexible and responsive to your individual needs.

CPD Categories

Five CPD categories apply to both the Specialist CPD Program and the Non-Specialist CPD Program:

  • Procedural skills
  • Group Learning
  • Quality enhancement
  • Self-directed learning
  • Teaching, research and educational development

Mandatory Cultural Competency for Specialist CPD

The College Board has introduced the new cycle requirement for Specialist CPD Program participants to complete one approved cultural competency activity. The introduction of this requirement reflects the commitment of ACEM to the integration of cultural competency through avenues such as the ACEM Reconciliation Action Plan, the Expert Advisory Group (EAG) on Discrimination Action Plan and the Discrimination, Bullying and Sexual Harassment (DBSH) Action Plan.

  • Approved cultural competence activities (more activities coming soon!)
  • Recommend an activity for approval

New Zealand practitioners

New Zealand practitioners must also meet the Medical Council of New Zealand (MCNZ) standards.

Both programs align with the MCNZ annual requirements for doctors:

  • One Audit of Medical Practice
  • 10 hours of Peer Review
  • 20 hours of Continuing Medical Education (CME) - a combination of group learning and self-directed learning within the ACEM CPD Programs.

To assist in meeting these requirements, all three MCNZ requirements have set targets within our CPD Programs. CPD certificates can be provided to the MCNZ as evidence you are meeting the recertification requirements.

MCNZ definitions

  • Audit of Medical Practice (AMP)
  • Peer review
  • Continuing Medical Education (CME)

Specialist CPD Program 

Our Specialist CPD Program encourages specialists to participate in professional development activities that extend their expertise in EM.

  • How do I apply?
  • Requirements

Non-Specialist CPD Program 

The Non-Specialist CPD Program has replaced the Non-Fellow Participant component of the Specialist CPD Program.

The tailored Non-Specialist CPD Program has been developed to meet the needs and reflect the varied practice of non-specialist EM doctors working in the emergency department.

If you are a Certificant, Diplomate, Educational Affiliate or International Affiliate member of the College, the Non-Specialist Program enables you to meet your ACEM Recertification requirements and your commitment to maintaining the highest level of practice in EM.

  • How do I apply?
  • Requirements

Manage your CPD

For information on how to document your CPD activities, visit the Manage your CPD page.

How do I provide feedback?

ACEM encourages feedback on ACEM CPD Programs. To offer suggestions, please contact the CPD unit.

View the full policy the Specialist CPD Program

View the full policy the Non-Specialist CPD Program