$10 million funding boost for emergency medicine training across Australia

The peak body for emergency medicine in Australia and New Zealand today announced that more than $10.7 million has been awarded to regional and rural hospitals across Australia to deliver emergency medicine training.

Under the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine’s (ACEM) Emergency Medicine Education and Training (EMET) program, education, training and supervision are provided by College Fellows for non-specialist emergency medicine doctors and other health professionals working in emergency departments and urgent care services, with a focus on rural, regional and remote locations.

EMET is funded by the Australian Government’s Department of Health.

ACEM contracts with a Hub hospital, typically a larger regional hospital, to deliver EMET activities, including training and supervision to hospitals and emergency services within their region or network. ACEM supports 50 EMET Hubs; the list of Hubs that have been awarded funding for 2018-2020 are listed below.

The funding will provide training to emergency department and emergency services teams at 430 regional, rural and remote hospitals and health services across Australia. It will also allow FACEMs to deliver emergency medicine training sessions, supervise trainees completing ACEM’s Emergency Medicine Certificate and Diploma, and enable on-the-floor teaching and supervision to build capacity in smaller emergency departments.

ACEM President Professor Tony Lawler said, “This training and supervision is just one example of how the College is improving access and quality of emergency patient care across Australia.  We look forward to working with all the participants and stakeholders of the EMET Program in the delivery of the critical emergency care needs of regional, rural and remote communities across the country.”

EMET funded Hubs in 2018-2020

Calvary Public Hospital
The Canberra Hospital

Albury Wodonga Health [Albury Campus]
Campbelltown Hospital
Coffs Harbour Hospital
Dubbo Hospital
Grafton Base Hospital
Griffith Hospital
John Hunter Hospital Newcastle
Lismore Hospital
Nepean Hospital
Port Macquarie Hospital
Shoalhaven Hospital
Tamworth Hospital
The Tweed Hospital
Wagga Wagga Hospital

Alice Springs Hospital

Bundaberg Base Hospital
Cairns Hospital
Gladstone Hospital
Mackay Base Hospital
Retrieval Services Qld
Rockhampton Hospital
Roma Hospital
Sunshine Coast University Hospital
The Townsville Hospital
Toowoomba Hospital

Modbury Hospital
SAAS Medstar Retrieval

North West Regional Hospital
Royal Hobart Hospital

Ballarat Health Services [Base Campus]
Bass Coast Regional Hospital [Wonthaggi]
Bendigo Health Care Group [Anne Caudle]
Goulburn Valley Health [Shepparton]
Latrobe Regional Hospital [Traralgon]
Mildura Base Hospital
Monash [Dandenong]
Northeast Health [Wangaratta]
South West Health [Warrnambool]
The Northern Hospital [Epping]
University Hospital Geelong
Wimmera Base [Horsham]

Albany Hospital
Broome Hospital
Geraldton Hospital
Hedland Health Campus
Northam Hospital
South West Health [Bunbury]
WACHS Emergency Telehealth Service


Andre Khoury

ACEM Public Affairs Manager
03 8679 8813
0498 068 023
[email protected]