Celebrating our rich history

The newly-formed ACEM History Steering Group held their first meeting on Wednesday 3 May at the College to commence work on celebrating ACEM’s rich history.

Committee members enjoyed the opportunity to reconnect with old colleagues, reminisce about the key dates in the College history — and start planning how to celebrate ACEM’s 35 years.

Left to right: Dr Bryan Walpole, Prof. Chris Baggoley, A/Prof. Joe Epstein, Dr Ed Brentnall, Dr Angela Pitchford, Prof. David Taylor, Jenny Freeman, Dr Paul Gaudry, Dr Simon Judkins, Prof. Gerry Fitzgerald, Dr Andrew Singer

Made up of a mix of Foundation Fellows and key contributors to ACEM’s history, the Committee’s remit is to undertake a project to celebrate and honour the College’s 35 year history at the 2018 ASM in Perth.

The project will record the reflections of Fellows who established the College and share its dynamic history through a publication and activities in 2018. The Group is chaired by President-Elect Dr Simon Judkins with David Taylor as Deputy Chair.

In setting the challenge to the Committee, President-Elect Dr Simon Judkins said that the Board recognised and acknowledged the pioneering people who led the charge in putting Emergency Medicine on the map in Australia and New Zealand — making it what it is today.

"This important project gives us the opportunity to reflect on where we’ve come from, honour those who established our College and build awareness within the new generation of Fellows of our important legacy," Dr Judkins said.
The Committee will call for Fellows to contribute to its work in the coming months. Read more at acem.org.au or in future ACEM Bulletins.