Edward Brentnall Award

Applications open 23 June

Policy AP364
Honour Roll
The Edward Brentnall Award is named in recognition of the outstanding contribution made by Foundation Fellow, Dr Edward Brentnall to the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine. Ed was instrumental in developing the speciality of emergency medicine and creating a College for medical training. He introduced one of the first triage systems in a “casualty” department and initiated the first combined medical and nursing associations. The award is made annually to an ACEM Fellow or trainee for a published paper relating to public health or disaster and is presented by Dr Edward Brentnall at the ACEM College Ceremony.
This policy governs the awarding of the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine (ACEM) Edward Brentnall Award, which is made in respect of a published research paper judged to be most significant in the field of public health or disaster medicine.

Dr Edward Brentnall is a Foundation Fellow of the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine (ACEM) who was instrumental in developing the specialty of emergency medicine and in creating a College for medical training.  He has a lifelong interest in first aid, emergency care and public health, and introduced one of the first triage systems in a ‘casualty’ department.  

The award was created in recognition of Dr Brentnall’s outstanding contribution to the College and to development of emergency medicine.

‘Published’ means publication in an online or printed refereed journal, including articles which are not yet published but have been made available via early online access prior to publication. 


4.1 Nature of Award
The award consists of a monetary prize of $1,000.00 and a certificate attesting to the award.
Where the paper has the involvement of more than one Fellow or trainee:

• the monetary prize shall be divided between those authors
• each author shall receive a certificate, which includes the name of the lead and other eligible authors.

4.2 Eligibility Criteria
The award may be made to the author of an article which, in the opinion of the ACEM Foundation, makes a significant contribution to emergency medicine.

An article which is within its first year of publication is eligible for consideration for this award if:

(a) its lead author is a ACEM Fellow or trainee of good standing

(b) it is most significant in the field of public health or disaster medicine

(c) it has been published in a refereed journal

(d) it has not previously been adjudicated for the award. 

The award is made annually, where this is appropriate.  If no applicant meets the criteria in a particular year, then the award will not be made.

4.3 Applications
Fellows or trainees who have authored an eligible article published during the immediately preceding financial year (1 July to 30 June) may submit that paper for the award when invitations to do so are issued by the College.

Each application must be accompanied by a copy of the article and by the relevant application form signed by all author Fellows and/or trainees. Where there is more than one author, the application must cite the lead author.

4.4 Selection Criteria and Process
A panel of three (3) or more assessors convened from the Public Health Committee shall adjudicate the applications and recommend to the ACEM Foundation a recipient for the award, based on the following criteria:

• Authorship (10)
• Contribution to public health or disaster medicine (10)
• Presentation/content/ clarity (10)
• Contribution to emergency medicine (10)
• Quality of methodology (10)
• Originality (10)
Maximum Total Score (60)

(a) The ACEM Foundation shall determine the recipient of the award. The decision of the Foundation will be final and no correspondence will be entered into.

(b) The award should be finalised no later than 30 days prior to the next Annual Scientific Meeting.

(c) All parts of the selection process must be conducted in accordance with the College Conflict of Interest Policy.  

4.5 Presentation of Award
The award certificate will be presented to the lead author by the College President during the Annual College Ceremony.

• AP364 Edward Brentnall Award Policy
• AP398 Edward Brentnall Award Scoresheet
• AP399 John Edward Brentnall Award application form
• COR139 Conflict of Interest Policy

Timeframe for review: every two (2) years, or earlier if required. 

6.1 Responsibilities
Document authorisation: ACEM Foundation
Document implementation: Public Health Committee
Document maintenance: ACEM Foundation & Faculties Coordinator 
Applications open June 2017
Edward Brentnall Award
Year Awarded to Title of Paper
2016 Diana Egerton-Warburton (lead author), Daniel Fatovich, Drew Richardson, Andrew Gosbell, Angela Wadsworth, Katie Moore.  Perceptions of Australasian Emergency Department staff of the impact of alcohol-related presentations
2015 Diana Egerton-Warburton (lead author), Daniel Fatovich, Drew Richardson, Andrew Gosbell, Angela Wadsworth. Survey of alcohol-related presentations to Australasian emergency departments
2014 Sandra Neate (lead author) and George Jelinek Non-reporting of reportable deaths to the coroner: when in doubt, report
2013 David Taylor Lateral versus anterior thoracic thrusts in the generation of airway pressure in anaesthetised pigs
2012 George Jelinek Effect of adrenaline on survival in out-of-hospital cardiac arrest: A randomised double-blind placebo-controlled trial